Sherry Schons Interview

http://www.flickr.com/photos/s_schons/ | @sschons1

Hi, What Do You Do?

I am a photographer. I photograph landscapes, architecture, macrophotograghy, and high school robotics. I am the lead photographer for FTC robotics in the state of Iowa.

What Are The Biggest Challenges In Your Industry?

The rate of change. It wasn’t that long ago that we were shooting film and using darkrooms. Now with digital we have moved the darkroom to the computer and allow the individual more control over their own images.

Also many people think that I can do everything in Photoshop when really it depends on what I get with the camera. Photoshop is only a tool but if it is not right in the camera it will never be a good photograph.

What Makes You Different Than Your Competitors?

The way I see the world through my camera lens. I want to show the world, especially the Midwest, both in the large and small in all its wonder while celebrating the creativity and tenacity of humans.

What Are Your Goals?

The become a better photographer. I am always working on my skills as a photographer and as an editor. There is a lot of room for me to grow my skills.

What and Who Do You Need to Reach Your Goals FAST?

I reach out to other photographers. I have found them to be very generous and helpful when I need help. A few are Doug Hoeger, Ryan Taylor, Mike Stark, Justin Tedford, Rick Sammon, and many other

What Can You Do For People Who Contact You?

People can contact me through
email: sschons@gmail.com
twitter: @sschons1
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/s_schons/

If they are interested in FTC robotics:
ftc.iowa@gmail.com
or
http://www.usfirst.org

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

